Houkou Studios

Adventurer of art and games

Back from Holidays (late)

Okay, I promised it… I’m just horribly, horribly slow.

Saturday
We drove. It was a seven hour trip, which was actually shorter than expected. We stopped a couple of times on the way. The first time was at Tim’s to get a bit of food before leaving (I got an unfortunately strong ice cap as well as a cinnamon roll–nowhere near as good as those at Cinzeo, mind you). The second notable stop was at a gas station out in a small town in the middle of nowhere, where I persuaded the kids to get juice instead of soda: we still had a long, cramped drive ahead, after all. When we got to the resort, I suffered fear of heights and feeling as though the floor underneath me could give way, but also was pleasantly surprised that we had free internet access (the only downside was that only browsers would connect).

Sunday
We just chilled on Sunday. I spent much of my day between browsing the net and working on a comic. It was nice and relaxing, at least.

Monday
We went skiing at one of the two nearby hills. I hadn’t skied for a couple years before then. It felt a little like I didn’t have enough control of my skis, though at the time I wasn’t sure if it was because my boots were loose or if my legs were just weak from not skiing for a while, or some combination of the two. After lunch, I stayed at the lodge a while longer and then went up again for a couple more runs before closing time. I have to say, though, my brother’s boots are awfully heavy. My skis were a bit touchy too, especially when we started, which added to the trouble. As well, if we stood on the snow too long, our skis would get stuck to it.

Tuesday
Today was another rest day. Again, I spent much of it browsing the net and drawing, although I strayed a little more from my comic today, drawing a couple other things as well. By the end of the day, my brother had the complaint that he was bored: the kids had only brought Grand Theft Auto with their PS2, and although the younger had brought her DS, brother didn’t have much else to turn to as World of Warcraft obviously didn’t connect while we were there.

Wednesday
Today, we were to ski at the other nearby hill. However, I stayed behind to work on my comic some more. It turned out that I had made a good decision: I was later informed that it had been horribly cold at the hill. I still got an egg sandwich, so that’s even better.

Thursday
We got ready and then left. The trip back was rough just as the trip there was. Meh.

And for Christmas I got some pajamas, The Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks and Muramasa the Demon Blade (both amazing games), a chocolate orange, some cash, and a gift card, among a few other little things. All-in-all, it was pretty good.

Ladidah, that’s that. I’m slow, I’m late, currently in the final exam week at school, and can now move on from this journal. Have a good day.

January 19, 2010 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment